Subject Guide

HeroImage


The following research tools can be accessed from home or on-the-go with your library card. They can also be used in our branch libraries on the public access PCs or with our free WiFi. If you would like assistance in using these eResources or you need help with your research please contact us online or visit or call your branch library.
 
Subject resources are listed in the drop down boxes below.

ABI/Inform Global
Management and business journals for professionals and students. A library card number is required for access.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Business Collection
A collection of searchable eBooks on a range of topic including economics, leadership, marketing, mediation and conflict resolution, project management, ethical business and more.

Global Issues in Context
Provides information on global Business issues through global viewpoints, reference materials and primary source documents.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Offers current and authoritative Business information using targeted arguments combined with reference articles, interactive maps and infographics.

Gale Business Insights: Global
Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies.

ABI/Inform Global
Management and business journals for professionals and students. A library card number is required for access.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Business Collection
A collection of searchable eBooks on a range of topics including economics, leadership, marketing, mediation and conflict resolution, project management, ethical business and more.

Global Issues in Context
Provides information on Economics global issues through global viewpoints, reference materials and primary source documents.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Offers current and authoritative Economics information using targeted arguments combined with reference articles, interactive maps and infographics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Literature Collection
Searchable eBooks on literary topics.

Gale Literature: Literature Resource Centre
Find up to date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Infobase eBooks
A collection of eBooks with science and literature titles.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of Australian and international fiction and non-fiction titles to support English subject study.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Science Collection
Searchable eBooks which include geography titles.

National Geographic Virtual Library
An online version of the iconic National Geographic magazine, featuring a topic guide, image search and magazine archive from 1888 to the present.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of Australian and international non-fiction titles to support Geography subject study.

Science in Context
A multi-media science encyclopaedia with eBooks, journal articles, videos and images.

Environmental Studies in Context
Interdisciplinary study of sustainability and the environment. Provides authoritative reference content in the areas of the environment, energy and natural resources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - History Collection
A broad range of searchable eBooks on periods of history including ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, early humans, Islamic history and culture, the Renaissance, Vietnam, the Women's movement, World Wars I and II and more.

General OneFile
A collection of news articles, magazines, books, academic journals, images and video that support History research and exploration.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of Australian and international non-fiction titles to support History subject study.

World History in Context
Primary sources, biographies, reference books and journals with videos and images covering both modern and ancient history.
Mango Languages
Practice your listening and speaking skills with these conversation and film-based resources. Choose from over 60 languages. Log in as a guest or create a profile to track your progress.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Arts Collection
‚ÄčA collection of eBooks across a range of topics. The Arts collection includes publications on art, music, literature, religion, dance and film.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of non-fiction titles to support Music subject study.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Science Collection
Searchable eBooks which include titles covering biology, chemistry, environment and physics.

Global Issues in Context
Provides information on global scientific issues through global viewpoints, reference materials and primary source documents.

Infobase eBooks
A collection of eBooks with science and literature titles.

Interactive: Science
Authoritative, high-quality digital content of the most studied science subjects. Includes interactive 3D models with functionality including zooming in, rotating and pulling them apart.

Opposing Viewpoints
Offers current and authoritative Science information using targeted arguments combined with reference articles, interactive maps and infographics.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of Australian and international non-fiction titles to support Science subject study.

Science in Context
A multi-media science encyclopaedia with eBooks, journal articles, videos and images.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Social Science Collection
Searchable eBooks of the Social Sciences including sociology, psychology, social issues, human relationships, human rights, cultures and societies and more.

Global Issues in Context
Provides information on global Society and Culture issues through global viewpoints, reference materials and primary source documents.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of Australian and international non-fiction titles to support Society and Culture subject study.

Gale OneFile: Communications & Mass Media
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Arts Collection
A collection of eBooks across a range of topics. The Arts collection includes publications on art, music, literature, religion, dance and film.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
High resolution images of paintings, historical objects, photographs, textiles and prints. Over 375,000 items in the collection are available for free and unrestricted use. To view the open access images, select 'Public Domain Artworks' from the 'Show Only' menu then start searching.

Biography in Context
Contextual information on the world's most influential people. Search by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, dates, places or keyword.

Britannica Library
Both junior and advanced subject coverage.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of searchable eBooks covering business, humanities, sciences and more.

General OneFile
A collection of news articles, magazines, books, academic journals, images and video that support general research and exploration.


National Geographic Virtual Library
An online version of the iconic National Geographic magazine, featuring a topic guide, image search and magazine archive from 1888 to the present.


ProQuest ANZ Newsstand
A selection of full text newspapers and newswires from Australian and New Zealand covering regional and international topics. Log in with your library card number.

ProQuest Research Library
Find all the resources you need in one place with access to full text newspapers, Australian and international academic journals and eBooks. Log in with your library card number.

ProQuest's eBook Library
Includes hundreds of Australian and international fiction and non-fiction titles to support various subjects.

State Library of NSW
View Australian primary resources or use your Newcastle Libraries card to access 100s of specialist eResources.


Gale OneFile: Australia & New Zealand 
Access comprehensive periodical content with a focus on Australia and New Zealand, complemented by global news, reference, and multimedia coverage.