Databases

The Library subscribes to a number of databases which can help you with your family history. Please note: You are only able to access these databases in our library branches.

Ancestry
A genealogy & historic research tool from around the world including digitised copies of census, parish & probate records.

Find My Past
A family history & genealogy database with millions of records covering Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, & the Pacific Islands. Members will need to register and create their own free account to access the archive. Be guided through some vital points in research, from getting started to understanding the ‘Hints’ feature. Access a 20 minute video with resident Findmypast family historian Myko Clelland for some extra techniques to get the most from your family tree.

British Newspaper Archive
The largest online collection of British and Irish historical newspapers. Members will need to register and create their own free account to access the newspaper. Navigate the archive confidently with this helpful page on search tips and making use of the advanced search functions. Find Help & Advice on getting started, newspaper coverage and other details here.

Internet History Resources
This database provides users with images of historical documents which contain information to help you trace people who lived & worked in NSW during the period 1850 – 1920.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Australian Collection - Historical newspaper content is among researchers most sought-after primary source material. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Australian Collection empowers researchers to digitally travel back through decades to become eyewitnesses to history. Covering leading issues and events, like the gold rush, federation, international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Australian Collection reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers.